Notices

Thread: Need basic technique advice

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Need basic technique advice 
    Face Planting Noob
    IP
    I am new to foiling and I have been out to the lake a few times now. I'm starting to get the hang of hovering and I can cut in and out of the wake. I have been working to tune my ski so I don't have to fight the front down as much as I have had to. I am getting closer to having it tuned in. I am sitting as far forward on the seat as possible but I still have to be a little leaned forward to keep the ski from climbing. I'm wondering if its better to set up the ski to where I am relaxed and sitting up straight when hovering or is it better technique to be leaned forward a bit?

I'm also wondering how much I'm supposed to move my arms up and down to control height vs moving my torso forward and back to control hover height? I find that I am able to make quicker corrections moving the handle up and down than I can shifting my weight forward and back. Is that bad? I'd like to try to steer away from any bad habits early on.

Blog Entries
    IP
    Shimming your ski should help make you a lot more comfortable and won't make you hunch over to fight it down. Try and keep your hands in your lap. The people who taught me taught me to use the handle up and down to control my height and it's been a tough habit to break.
    ONE MORE TRY

IP